# 11.0 SABBATICAL LEAVE POLICY AND PROCEDURES

In accordance with Article XXVII of the CURRENT CONTRACT, the guidelines listed herein

(10) months.

- d. Sabbaticals must be taken for the semester(s) awarded. Under extraordinary circumstances and upon approval from the Dean and the Provost, a sabbatical may be postponed to the next academic year. Understanding that The Board of Trustees must be approved all Sabbaticals/Leaves.
- e. The period of the sabbatical leave shall be credited for increment purposes, where such credit is relevant.
- f. A faculty member who is on sabbatical leave shall be entitled to the continuation of pension

e.

- k. On each of the Format, Clarity, Merit, and Feasibility criteria (11.5 b, c, d, and e), a yesor-no vote is taken (i.e., applications are not ranked at the Unit Scholarship Committee level). The vote count is to remain confidential and should never be shared outside the Committee.
- 1. Only applications that have received a majority yes vote on *all* of the criteria related to Eligibility, Format, Clarity, Merit and Feasibility (11.5 a, b, c, d, and e) will be forwarded to the ACSC.
- m. The Unit Scholarship Committee notifies each applicant and their Dean of t decision and rationale in writing.
- n. The ACSC evaluates and ranks each sabbatical application against the sabbatical criteria (see section 11.5) and in accordance with the voting procedures described below.
  - i. Each voting member of the ACSC shall complete an independent review of each sabbatical application and shall provide a separate score using a 5-point scale for each of the following criteria: Merit (including Feasibility), Scholarship, and Service.
  - ii. Scores assigned by each ACSC voting member on Merit, Scholarship and Service shall be added to those of the other voting members to obtain a final score (i.e., a possible maximum of 30 points) for each sabbatical criterion (one rating by each of the six Unit representatives).
  - iii. A composite scor

# **11.8 COMPOSITION OF SABBATICAL COMMITTEES**

## Unit Scholarship Committee/Library Personnel Committee

- a. All members of the Unit Scholarship Committee shall be tenured faculty.
- b. Membership shall consist of one Unit member from each major program.
- c. Committee members may <u>not</u> currently be under consideration for sabbatical.

#### All-College Sabbatical Committee (ACSC)

- a. The ACSC shall consist of one tenured faculty member from each academic Unit (i.e., School), one tenured Librarian, one non-voting union representative, one non-voting representative of the ER), and one non-voting Affirmative Action representative appointed by the President (i.e., 6 voting and 3 non-voting members). Committee membership shall comport with all College Policies including #429 <u>Nepotism</u> and #458 <u>The Code of Professional Responsibility</u>.
- b. The Unit representatives to the ACSC will ideally be members of the Unit Scholarship Committee.
- c. All voting ACSC members shall be tenured prior to their first year of service on the ACSC.
- d. Voting ACSC members shall serve no more than two (2) consecutive years without the possibility of repeating until they have been off the ACSC for at least two years. Service on the ACSC for even a short period (e.g., when someone is selected to complete the term of another member) shall constitute a one-year term.

# **11.9 ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND MEMBERSHIP ON THE ACSC**

a.

- ii. The ER representative shall provide the Committee with the due date for its final recommendations.
- iii. The ER representative shall provide access to sabbatical applications for review by ACSC members.
- iv. The ER representative's role shall be limited to the review of ACSC and College policies and procedures to monitor adherence to the Faculty Handbook. The ER representative shall not take part in ACSC deliberative discussions. That is, the ER representative may only advise the Committee on procedural matters.
- v. The ER representative shall also assist the ACSC Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary with scheduling and Committee correspondence. All communications sent from the ER representative regarding Committee business, including notices of meetings and scheduling, shall be sent in the name of the ACSC Chair and shall be reviewed and approved by the Chair or Vice-Chair prior to distribution. The ACSC Chair shall place all records of Committee deliberations and votes for storage in the care of the ER representative. These files are confidential and are for Committee use only.

### **Union (AFT) Representative**

i. The non-voting Union (AFT) representative shall be appointed by the AFT.